News
Blog
Competition
Media
Children's
Favourites
Window
Local News

Historical Intrigue grips Queen’s Park

Elizabeth Freemantle reading and signing Sisters of Treason

We’re delighted to announce the return of local author and maestro of courtly conspiracy Elizabeth Freemantle to the bookshop, where she’ll be reading from her latest novel, Sisters of Treason. A sequel to her gripping first novel Queen’s Gambit, Sisters of Treason follows the plots, passions, romances and betrayals of the royal court during precarious and turbulent reign of Mary Tudor. An enticing and moving novel, the perfect read for fans of Hilary Mantel or Phillipa Gregory.

Join us in the shop for Elizabeth’s reading and signing on Thursday 3rd July from 6.30pm – refreshments will be provided and entry is, as always, free. Please RSVP by calling us on 020 7625 1008 or emailing us at the usual address.

An evening with Satesh Kumar

Meet the editor of Resurgence & Ecologist magazine and author of Soil, Soul Society

Satesh Kumar is  perhaps one of the most influential and respected environmental and peace activists of the past century, and we’re delighted to welcome you to an evening of reading and discussion with him in our shop on Friday 14th March. His latest book, Soil, Soul, Society: A New Trinity for Our Time is a philosophical and ethical manifesto for a more sustainable and harmonious way of living, drawing on centuries of religious and holistic thought but keenly relevant to our times. Doors open at 7.00pm, and the event begins at 7.30. For more information, and to reserve your place, phone us on 020 7625 1008, email shop@queensparkbooks.co.uk, or visit us in-store. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Lucy Hughes-Hallett at QPB

Local author discusses her prize-winning biography of Gabriele D’Anunnzio

We’re delighted to announce the return visit of local author, and winner of the Samuel Johnson Prize 2013, Lucy Hughes-Hallett. Her book The Pike – Gabriele D’Anunnzio: Poet, Seducer and Preacher of War is a fascinating and gripping biography of one of the most unique characters of 20th-century history: D’Anunnzio was a highly-regarded poet and journalist, a war hero and, later, a proto-fascist separatist and dictator of the short-lived city-state of Fiume. Find out more about this fascinating character at our reading and signing on Wednesday 26th February at 7pm. For more information, call us on 020 7625 1008 or visit the shop.

What should we tell our daughters?

Discuss the pleasures and pressures of growing up female at our next Author Evening

We’re extremely excited to host our next evening of literary discussion in Queen’s Park on Thursday 6th February, when local journalist and author Melissa Benn will be discussing her latest book, What Should We Tell Our Daughters, with prominent feminist writier and activist Selma James. Described as “wide-ranging [and] thoughtful” by the Guardian, and “infused with a spirit of creative rebellion” by the Independent, Benn’s book is a chronological examination of female experience, and a manifesto for the development of modern feminism. The event will begin at 6.30pm – for more information, and to reserve your seat, call us on 020 7625 1008, or email shop@queensparkbooks.co.uk


This is page 1 of 712345...Last »